Explosions In The Sky

Explosions In The Sky

Thu. 07.04.2033 | 20:00 Uhr Robert-Schumann-Saal, Düsseldorf

This American post-rock band’s cinematic sound is reminiscent of other bands such as Mogwai or Godspeed You Black Emperor. They formed in Austin, Texas in 1999, choosing a name relating to the American Independence Day’s fireworks on the 4th July. This year, Explosions In The Sky released their seventh studio album “The Wilderness”.

Munaf Raani (guitar), Mark Smith (guitar), Michael James (bass) and Chris Hrasky (drums) composed nine new songs for this album and recorded them together with long-term producer and grammy winner John Congleton. They let their fans take a first peak in January by releasing their single “Disintegration Anxiety”. “The Wilderness” is a mix of post-rock and film music that doesn’t need a film. The music itself evokes the most colourful images while listening to it.

Explosions In The Sky continuously open up more and more sophisticated, even electronic dimensions of post-rock. “The Wilderness” is emotional, playful at times, punchy and heavy at others. And while no film shooting was in mind when creating their new album – their love of epic film music cannot be overheard. Thus, Explosions In The Sky’s music reached a new level in 2016.

Presale tickets are available here from today: Online-Ticket-Shop for Düsseldorf

Share:

Explosions In the Sky

Explosions In the Sky

Do. 27.10.2016 | 20:00 Uhr Robert-Schumann-Saal, Düsseldorf

Die amerikanische Postrock-Band erinnert mit ihren filmmusikartigen Sounds an andere Bands wie Mogwai oder Godspeed You Black Emperor. Gegründet im Jahr 1999 im texanischen Austin, bezieht sich ihr Name auf die Feuerwerke anlässlich des US-amerikanischen Unabhängigkeitstages am 4. Juli. In diesem Jahr haben Explosions In the Sky „The Wilderness“ veröffentlicht, ihr Studioalbum Nummer sieben.

Neun neue Songs haben Munaf Rayani (Gitarre), Mark Smith (Gitarre), Michael James (Bass) und Chris Hrasky (Schlagzeug) dafür komponiert und zusammen mit Langzeitproduzent und Grammy-Preisträger John Congleton aufgenommen. Einen ersten Vorgeschmack gaben sie bereits im Januar mit der Single „Disintegration Anxiety“. „The Wilderness“ ist eine Mischung aus Postrock und Filmmusik, die allerdings keinen Film benötigt. Die Musik erzeugt selbst die buntesten Bilder beim Hören.

Der Postrock immer öfter anspruchsvollere, teilweise elektronische Dimensionen. „The Wilderness“ ist emotionsgeladen, mal spielerisch leicht, mal druckvoll und schwer. Und auch wenn der Entstehung dieser Platte kein Filmdreh voranging – ihre Vorliebe für epische Filmmusik ist auf dem neuen Album nicht zu überhören. So sind Explosions In The Sky 2016 auf einer neuen Stufe ihrer Musik angelangt.

Tickets im Vorverkauf sind ab heute hier erhältlich: Online-Ticket-Shop für Düsseldorf

Share: